top of page

Sun, 21 Nov



Autumn Moods

The orchestra is pleased to present a concert of romantic music featuring the talented violinist Roberts Balanas. The programme includes Mendelssohn’s popular and evocative Hebrides Overture, Bruch’s famous violin concerto in G minor and Brahms’ magnificent second symphony.

Autumn Moods
Autumn Moods

Time & Location

21 Nov 2021, 19:00

Basingstoke, Churchill Way E, Basingstoke RG21 7QR, UK

About the Event

In the Romantic tradition of 'stand-alone' concert overtures, Mendelssohn's ever-popular and evocative Hebrides Overture, inspired by the sights and sounds of a trip to the Scottish island of Staffa, could be described as an early example of a tone poem.

Bruch's ever-popular and beautiful First Violin Concerto with its dazzling virtuosic passages and romantic heart-breaking melodies is a wonderful showcase for the instrument and the electric artistry of our young Latvian soloist, Roberts Balanas.

In comparison to his rather austere, brooding First Symphony, Brahms's Second Symphony is quite a contrast, being full of optimism and overflowing with warmth and lush, joyful, memorable melodies.

Share This Event

bottom of page